Loading Events

Steve Smith and Vital Information NYC Edition


Concert Details


Steve Smith (Journey / Steps Ahead) – drums
Mark Soskin (Sonny Rollins / Herbie Mann) – keyboards
Vinny Valentino (Jimmy McGriff / Bill Evans) – guitar
Baron Browne (Jean-Luc Ponty / Billy Cobham) – bass

The lineup of Vital Information NYC Edition brings together members of all of Smith’s bands: guitarist Vinny Valentino (from Vital Information), pianist Mark Soskin (from Jazz Legacy and Buddy’s Buddies), bassist Baron Browne (from Jazz Legacy, Buddy’s Buddies, and Vital Information), with Smith on drums.

Steve Smith had this to say about Vital Information NYC Edition’s philosophy:

“Our music allows for individual expression and re-invention. We thrive on swing, groove and creativity. We want to surprise each other every night on the bandstand with new ideas and in the process keep our audience ‘in the moment’ with us.”

Over the years, Smith has won a number of Modern Drummer’s Readers Polls, including as number one All-Around Drummer five years in a row. In 2001, he was named one of the Top 25 Drummers of All Time,  and in 2002 he was voted into the Modern Drummer Hall of Fame.

In 2012 and 2015, the readers of Modern Drummer voted Smith as number one Fusion Drummer and in 2017, he topped an unprecedented three categories as number one MVP, Rock Drummer, and for Educational Product, for his Hudson Music Book/DVD Pathways of Motion. Also, in 2017 Smith was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for his work with the rock group Journey.

Vital Information NYC Edition has two releases, including Viewpoint (2015) and most recently Heart of the City (2017).

Vital Information is one of improvised music’s best-kept secrets; the tunes are adventurous and they always groove. The musicians shoot for, and achieve, real emotion rather than soulless fireworks.


More Information

2018 Concert Series sponsored by

  • Sanderson Lincoln Logo